Adventures in Thailand, Posts

Silence Implies Assent

Most people probably don’t notice, but I don’t really get into the realm of public debate. No one really notices, because I’m really good at faking conversational commitment. I rarely bring up politically charged subjects, but often friends or family will talk to me about one of these subjects and I’ll nod along with the conversation, offering an obligatory, though noncommittal, “uh-huh” or “totally” or “that’s awful,” all the while letting them think I’m nodding in agreement, when, in reality, I’ve only ever offered nods of understanding. Nice, right? I call it the “noncommittal conversational dodge” (I’m going to copyright that one day).

I utilize the “dodge” for a couple of reasons: first, I tend to be a people pleaser—I like it when people like me; I like it when people are happy. I’m afraid that if I disagree with the people I care about, especially in such emotionally charged subjects, they’ll take offense or like me less. I recognize that this is kind of silly.

Another other reason I “dodge” is that I don’t know—I don’t know all the facts and, chances are, I haven’t developed my own opinion about the matter. I’m very open-minded, and chances are that I might agree with you, though I also might not. I just don’t know yet.

Finally, I “dodge” because I’ve lived my life outside the proverbial “box.” Why should I put myself in the box of liberalism or conservatism, right or left, or, worst of all, be labeled a radical? I don’t want people’s perception of me and what I do or say to be tainted by the unfortunate filter of a label, which filter is tinted with the words and actions of others; I want my words and actions to be seen in the light of who I am, in the light of the life of service and discipleship that I’ve tried to build. A label would taint that.

But guess what: some very loud voices are speaking up and causing change. In our families, communities, nations, and in our world, tides of change are moving us, but they are tides we can fight against and even reverse. But we know that if good men do nothing, evil will triumph. Some of those voices are evil and some are not, but I’m a good man, so I should do something.

There has been a theme in the last several General Conferences of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints about standing up for the truth, even (and I might add “especially”) when it’s not popular. I believe that the men who speak to us at General Conference are prophets, seers, and revelators—men who speak a loving God’s words—so how can I ignore their inspired counsel? I’ve decided that it’s time for me to start doing something.

Once, I had a professor tell me that, in many instances, “silence implies assent.” I’ve been silently assenting to the adoption of many ideas and practices in our culture, many of which I don’t agree with. I’m not going to be silent any more. There are ideas and practices that I support and, conversely, which I oppose, and I’m going to start talking about them.

I realize that in taking and stating my position I may offend some, but let this serve as a disclaimer and preemptive appology: in nothing I say is there any intentional malice or intolerance; I simply make judgment calls, based on reasoned arguments and the truths that I understand, and statements of belief. I write in a spirit of understanding and seeking to understand, and in the spirit of scholarly debate; I sincerely pray that these underlying principles will be understood and returned in kind. If the reader does not agree with me, I invite you to become a participant in the conversation, rather than take offense and leave the conversation. We might not agree in the end, but at least we can come to a mutual understanding and maintain our friendship.

As I open up about my opinions and formulate arguments I fully recognize that I don’t have all the facts, and I may often make or adopt invalid arguments. Again, I sincerely pray that no one will be offended by what I say, for offense is not my purpose.

Underpinning my arguments is my belief in an objective right and wrong—a definitive black and white. However, I also believe that in many issues there is no clearly defined line, and that grey area is meet for debate and fleshing out. Therefore, I’ll play in the grey area in light of the black and white.

Finally, I think it is important to do our due diligence when engaging in public debate. While an argument with false premise might still be valid, it is not sound; so let’s all fact-check, huh? I’m guilty of not fact-checking, and I think we all are. Let’s be honest, the argument that “Mormons aren’t Christians because they don’t believe in Jesus Christ” is not a sound argument, and there are a whole lot of assumptions in that argument that need fleshing out. We believe in Jesus Christ. The world would be a much better place if people fact-checked.

Oh, and if you’re spreading misinformation on purpose, just stop. You’re not CIA or KGB.

It is important to be vocal about one’s beliefs and I believe that I have something of worth to say, something that requires more of me than passively reposting articles on Facebook. Thank you for reading my introduction and disclaimer. I hope that by taking time to read this you can forgive my mistakes and inaccuracies; I further hope that you are inspired to join the conversation! Finally, I hope that my sincere arguments might be strong enough to sway some sincere reader, and maybe even find some unchanging truths in a tumultuous world. That would be nice.

To what are you assenting by remaining silent?

Standard

Leave a comment